and you?

So far, I’ve written about books I’ve read, books I’m reading, books I want to read, and books I’ve stopped reading.  But now it’s your turn. 

What are you reading?  What are you planning to read?  What have you recently finished that the rest of should (or should not) look into?

~ by Molly on January 23, 2009.

5 Responses to “and you?”

  1. I am reading Maeve Binchy’s Evening Class. I enjoy her descriptions of Ireland, her gentle style of story-telling and the assurance that sometimes when things don’t work out,that’s all right, too. This is the third Binchy I’ve read in the past three months, the others being Tara Road and Silver Wedding. I also listened to Whitethord Woods on CD and it was terrific.

    • I went through a few years when I read everything by Binchy I could get my hands on — her depiction of Ireland is absolutely amazing, and her characters certainly draw you into their stories. The problem is that I read so many of them in such a short time that the plots are a blur. (Her occasional use of a character in more than one book doesn’t help.) But I do remember Evening Class being a stand-out, and The Glass Lake is another one I was particularly fond of. Although I’ve continued to read her on occasion, my obsession with her books ended when someone recommended that I try Rosamunde Pilcher as well. Pilcher writes in a similar vein, but I found I preferred her over Binchy. So while I’ve read nearly everything each of them has written, it’s Pilcher I return to if their style is what I’m in the mood for — particularly The Shell Seekers, September, or Winter Solstice, three of my favorites.

  2. Just finished Physics for Future Presidents. Describes the science behind some recent newsworthy items (energy efficient cars, global warming, etc). Interesting, but written at too low a grade level and the tone was a bit condescending at times. Recommended in a Newspaper Letters to the editor comment blog, so what can one expect.

    The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2008 is in progress. About half way through, good reading.

    Censored ’09 – Read it if you are interested in what’s really going on in the world (that the media ignores). Avoid if you want to be in an upbeat frame of mind – this book won’t put you there.

    Pillars of the Earth and World Without End by Ken Follett. Molly was reading Pillars for her book club, but didn’t really like it (don’t think she’s finished it or will). I like historical fiction (like James Clavell or Edward Rutherfurd) and finished Pillars in two days, so guess I liked it. Got WWE for Christmas. If you like historical fiction, give it a try, but remember Medieval life was poor, nasty, brutish, and short.

    I typically have multiple books going at once, but lately don’t make much progress on any of them. Why? I’ve been getting the Economist for over a year and it typically takes most of my reading time to get through it weekly – not the hour it takes to read Time cover to cover. If I’ve read a book I’ve missed that weeks news. 🙂 Think I’ll skip renewing it next year.

    On the lighter side: Peter and the StarCatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson. The story of Peter Pan before the JM Barrie’s tale. Tied together well I thought. A kid’s book, it goes by fast.

    And while the byline will say Molly said this, it’s really Keith

  3. I’ve just reread Pilcher’s Coming Home – my favorite of hers, although I like them all. Coming Home is based in a couple of places we’ve stayed and I have a weird thing about wanting to picture the exact location so I can “be” there. I am constantly looking up streets mentioned in books set in London in my London A to Z. I am now in the middle of rereading Elizabeth Jane Howard’s Cazelet Family Chronicle – 4 novels set in England (Surrey) from 1936 – 1945 (can you see a pattern here?) – it’s one of my favorite places to be and these particular novels really pull you into the family. I’ve read the first two books of the Inkheart trilogy – Inkheart and Inkspell – I don’t know if the third one is at the library yet – and really enjoyed them. I love anything to do with time travel or, as in this case, jumping in and out of books.

    • I used to consider Coming Home to be my absolute favorite book. (If I had to name the book currently holding that title, I’d probably say Pride and Prejudice — Austen has been mesmerizing me lately.) I know I read it a number of times, but I haven’t for years, and I’m not sure why. It kind of feels like I’ve lost touch with an old friend — I should definitely revisit it soon.

      I’ll also have to add the Inkheart novels and Peter and the StarCatchers to my to-read list. I’ve heard generally positive things about them before, and now that those opinions have been echoed, I’ll be sure to look into them.

Leave a Reply

 
