if you’ve ever worked in a library…

I worked in my university library all the way through my two degrees.  It was a great job, and one I would definitely recommend to any student looking for campus employment.  It had its less-than-fun moments, but handling books on a daily basis had to be a whole lot better than handling cafeteria food.

One of the great things about working in a library is not only getting to handle books, but on occasion getting to mock them as well.  But these days, without a few hundred books passing through my hands each week, I stumble upon a lot fewer covers and titles to laugh at, so imagine my delight when I came across a  blog devoted to just that: http://awfullibrarybooks.wordpress.com/

To be fair, these bloggers are actually on a sincere mission to weed out out-dated or irrelevant books in libraries in order to better serve their patrons.  But the photos are hilarious, and the comments are witty and irreverant, which make for fun reading.  And if you’ve ever worked in a library, you know they’re not making this stuff up.

~ by Molly on July 7, 2009.

One Response to “if you’ve ever worked in a library…”

  1. My Favorite Worst Library Book…
    “The House that Crack Built” Its a picture book for kids, no kidding, and it rhymes all the way through.

Leave a Reply

 
