celebrating 100 posts

On January 14, bookhopping saw its first post.  Six months later, I’m now posting the 100th!

What started off as a simple creative outlet has turned into a large part of my life.  I’m reading and writing more than I have in years, and I have loved every minute of it.  Through bookhopping, I’ve gotten plugged into a book community online, discovered opportunities to advocate for issues important to me, and read a lot of amazing books I might not have otherwise picked up.  (As well as a few less than amazing ones, but such is life.)

To celebrate bookhopping’s 100-post milestone, I’ve decided to give away a copy of my favorite book I’ve read and reviewed in the past six months: The Book Thief. (You can read my review here, if you haven’t already.)  Entering for a chance to win is simple — just leave a comment below, telling me about the best book you’ve read (so far) in 2009, anytime between now and Sunday, July 19.  I’ll announce the winner next week.

Thanks for entering, and thanks for reading! I hope you’ve enjoyed visiting bookhopping as much as I’ve enjoyed creating it.

~ by Molly on July 15, 2009.

18 Responses to “celebrating 100 posts”

  1. Joyce Carol Oates is at her captivating best in “My Sister, My Love,” which is my favorite book so far in 2009. The book’s excellent pace pulls the reader through this difficult story told by a troubled teen. Shifts in time, direct comments to readers, and stream of consciousness passages all add to the book’s complicated but enthralling tone.

  2. Congratulations on your 100th post. Very impressive in such a short time! The best book I’ve read this year (at least the one that’s made me think the most, was “Dies the Fire” by S.M. Stirling. It’s a look at how people would survive if our electronics suddenly stopped working. I’m getting ready to start the 4th in the series now.

  3. I’m a big fan of Bud, Not Buddy. You really get into Bud’s shoes. It has one of those unexpected but inevitable conclusions. The use of history was very subtle but also very interesting.

  4. Congrats on 100 posts! My favorite book so far this year has to be The Forgotten Garden. Kate Morton has become one of my favorite writers with her beautiful writing style and compelling characters. It is absolutley stunning!

  5. Congrats! That’s great you’ve come so far. I’m almost to my 2nd year of blogging and it’s insane. Time moves fast. 🙂

    One of the best books I’ve read this year was Willow by Julia Hoban. I highly recommend. I’m almost finshed with Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert too. SO SO GOOD. recommended.

    -Lauren

  6. I just finished an excellent fantasy book for middle graders called “Any Which Wall” by Laurel Snyder. Reminds me of some of the fantasy books I read as a kid, innocent with plenty of adventure.

  7. love stopping by and seeing your thoughts. I really liked “The Gargoyle” it was enchanting.

  8. The best book I have read in 2009 was Swan Song by: Robert McCammon
    Thanks for the chance to win this book ;o)

  9. Congrats on your 100th post!

    I really enjoyed If She Only Knew by Lisa Jackson! It’s about a woman who couldn’t remember who she was and she didn’t know who she could trust. All she knew was that someone was trying to kill her!
    mittens0831 AT aol.com

  10. Congratulations!

    I’m not sure of the best book I’ve read so far this year, but it’s probably either Thirteenth Child by Patricia C. Wrede or Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side by Beth Fantaskey, but there are books which I will probably like more that are still on my To Read list.

    paradoxrevealed (at) aim (dot) com

  11. Congrats on reaching 100! I am still reeling from the awesomeness that was Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games. That book completely blew me away. I read it once, then immediately flipped back to the beginning and read it through again. Amazing, amazing story, characters, prose, world-building, lessons in humanity…I could go on!

    celialarsen(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. would love to read this! my favorite recent book is The Noticer by Andy Andrews…

  13. Congrats! That’s very impressive! I’ve been wanting to read this book for so long. I had it from the library but didn’t have the chance to read it before it was due back. I would love to win my own copy!

    I’ve read so many good books this year. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society was a great book and the author was terrific! Thanks for a great contest!

  14. Best book I have read lately was Saving Fish From Drowning by Amy Tan. Would love to win your contest!

  15. The best book I’ve read so far in 2009 is Knife of Dreams by Robert Jordan.

  16. The Best book I have read so far in 2009… wow that is rough.. I have read so many great book..
    I will say One Tuesday morning by Karen Kingsbury.

    Thanks for the chance

    itsjustmerene2003 at yahoo dot com

  17. Gina — Congratulations! You’ve won a copy of THE BOOK THIEF! Thank you to everyone who entered — and thanks for all the great recommendations!

Leave a Reply

 
