this week

Recently finished: I’ve been on a bit of a chick lit kick lately with Jennifer Weiner’s newest, Best Friends Forever, and Ann Brashares’ The Last Summer (Of You and Me) (on audio).  More on these soon.

Actively reading: Beowulf on the Beach, Await Your Reply, and Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception (also on audio).  I  thought I had read this Artemis Fowl (the 4th in the YA fantasy series) but while the beginning seemed vaguely familiar, the latter parts have not.  I’m glad I thought to revisit it before moving on to the 5th, which I also have checked out on CD from the library.

On the back burner: A Separate Peace, which I haven’t replaced yet.  Though I may see if the library has an audio version instead — that would be harder for my dog to eat.

About to start: The 5th Artemis Fowl, a new YA novel called Dancing with Ana that I received in the mail to review, and possibly  Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s newest, The Husband Habit, which I won through LibraryThing’s Early Reviewer program.  I’ve only read one of Valdes-Rodreguez’s novels before, but I definitely enjoyed it.  I’m not exactly sure why I haven’t read more of her books before now.  I’m also still looking forward to The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society.  Hmmmm….decisions, decisions.

What have you been reading lately?

~ by Molly on August 6, 2009.

One Response to “this week”

  1. Molly, I picked up Leslie Stahl’s Reporting LIve at a local fundraiser here at the lake. This is a change of direction for me and I really enjoyed it. I’m sorry I didn’t pay more attention to the various presidents of my youth. This summer I’ve been catching up on my Harry Potters….working on the final book now. JK Rowling is amazing – love how she invents words for various curses, hexes, and actions.

Leave a Reply

 
