ya binge

Over the summer months, I seem to have gravitated toward chick lit and newer literary reads.  In addition to the books I’ve already posted reviews of, I have finished and plan to post on Best Friends Forever, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and Await Your Reply in the next week or two. 

But now with school starting, I’m feeling a definite pull toward the YA books on my to-read lists.  I’m continuing to catch up with the Artemis Fowl series on audio (in spite of the fact that they’ve switched readers on me — and right after I was wrote about how much I’ve enjoyed the readings of the earlier books!), and I have a new novel called Dancing with Ana waiting for me in my purse. 

I also have an audio version of The Hunger Games checked out from the library, but the reader is just not working for me so I’ve requested a hard copy.  The audiobook is read by Carolyn McCormick, who is recognizable from Law and Order, and who has also narrated James Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club books.  I enjoyed her readings of those, and maybe it’s just that her voice is ingrained in my head as Lindsay Boxer, but I’m having trouble reconciling her voice with Hunger Game’s 16-year-old protagonist Katniss.  This is a book I’ve been hearing great things about for months (and the first few minutes that I did listen to are certainly promising), so I don’t want to worry about the voice drowning out the story. 

While wandering through Barnes and Noble the other day, I also made a list of a whole bunch more YA titles I’d love to get to…but I’ll see about tackling the ones I have at hand first.

~ by Molly on August 18, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
