artemis fowl

I just finished listening to Artemis Fowl: The Time Paradox, the 6th in Eoin Colfer’s juvenile fantasy series.  And I have to say, I was a little disappointed. 

As a kid, I avoided fantasy and science fiction at all costs.  I just couldn’t get into it.  As an adult, I’ve broadened my horizons a bit.  I still don’t read much (any?) adult fantasy, but on occasion, a YA or juvenile fantasy novel or series will find its way onto my reading list. 

I think I first read Artemis Fowljust before or just after I started teaching.  I’m going to have to go back to the first installment at some point, because the details are fuzzy, but the initial plot is about a boy genius who manages to lure and capture an elf.  Elves, as it turns out, are one of many species that make up the fairy people, a whole secret and highly technological civilization of which lives below ground after being chased from the surface by humans.  But Artemis Fowl has somehow managed to piece together knowledge of their existence and wants to learn more.   Through his actions, the fates of Artemis, his bodyguard Butler, the captured elf Holly Short, and other fairies become inexorably intertwined, resulting in adventure after adventure.

The books are cleverly written.  The combined factors of magical creatures, extraordinary intelligence, and incredibly advanced technology allow for intricately complex plots that are difficult not to get caught up in.  And though at times, the events seem to make no sense, the reader can remain confident that Artemis will eventually be able to explain it all.

I’ve enjoyed the books.  Having finished the first three several years ago, my remembrance of the plot details is hazy.  But I’ve listened to the fourth, fifth, and sixth installments this summer.  The Opal Deception (#4) and The Lost Colony (#5)  were as strong as I remember the previous books being.  Unfortunately, I can’t quite say the same for the sixth.  Though all of the Artemis Fowl books certainly have some elements of chaos, The Time Paradox felt a little overwhelming as crisis after crisis arose for Artemis and Holly to deal with, resulting in an almost off-putting pace that left me repeatedly wondering, “Aren’t we at the end yet?”  It didn’t help that this audiobook had a new reader, Enn Reitel, who fell short of the mark left by the previous books’ narrator, Nathaniel Parker. 

Overall, though, the Artemis Fowl series is captivatingly entertaining, either in book or audio form.  I’m sure my slight disappointment in the The Time Paradox won’t stop me from picking up any future books in the series.


Shop Indie Bookstores

~ by Molly on August 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
