a few days away

Last weekend, my husband and I took a trip to New York.  It was a great weekend, and among many other stops were several book-related ones.  We spent Friday afternoon wandering through Central Park, and our last stop was at the Strand Books kiosk on the edge of the park.  Then on a trip into Brooklyn, we found our way to Word, a great indie bookstore I’d heard about through Twitter.  My resolve to not buy any books held strong at Strand, but completely fell apart at Word, and I walked out with a copy of Mary Poppins, which I’ve never read.  (After seeing ads for the Broadway musical all weekend, it fely like an appropriate choice.)

And of course, any trip to New York would be incomplete without a stop at FAO Schwarz, where I ran into these old friends: securedownload

Yes, those are Harry, Ron, Hermione, and Hagrid — created entirely out of Legos.  They were right at the top of the escalator, and I went down and back up again just so I could get a picture. 

We were only gone a few days, but I feel like I’ve been playing catch-up ever since we got home, which is why I haven’t been posting much this week.  But I think we’re getting back into our routine now, so hopefully you’ll be hearing from me more soon!

~ by Molly on October 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
