a year of bookhopping

I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect when I started bookhopping a year ago.  Being discovered as the witty book reviewer some major media outlet was looking for would have been nice, but I kind of figured spirited ridicule and a slow (or even quick) fade into oblivion were more likely.

A year later, I’m still reviewing as an amateur blogger rather than a professional critic, but given the facts that A) minimal ridicule has been involved and B) I’m still blogging at all, I’ll happily take it.  In fact, I’ve really enjoyed this past year and am grateful to all of you who visit for reading my random ramblings.  My postings have fluctuated from nearly daily (when I first kicked off) to closer to weekly at times, but keeping up with this blog has allowed me too accomplish several things:

  • Become more purposeful about my reading, which I love to do but can get lazy about
  • Write on a regular basis something requiring more thought than email, which I haven’t really done since grad school
  • Plug into an online community of readers and book lovers
  • Stretch my reading comfort zone and try some books I wouldn’t have otherwise picked up

I’ve also learned a few things:

  • I almost never read next what I say I’m going to read next.
  • I’m not so great at the challenge thing (see above point).
  • Sometimes the hardest books to write about are the ones you like the most.

And so I look forward to bringing bookhopping into its second year, with more opportunities to read, write, connect, and learn.

And to celebrate this milestone, I am doing a book giveaway — and the winner will get to pick what book I will give away!  Well, within reason…

The choices are my favorites of 2009:

  • The Help
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
  • Hunger Games
  • Catching Fire
  • The Book Thief
  • The Thirteenth Tale
  • The Man Who Loved Books Too Much

 

Here’s how this is going to work:

Step 1: Check out my “best reads of the year” post and/or my review of The Man Who Loved Books Too Much (my favorite non-fiction of 2009) to read about the giveaway options.

Step 2: Leave a comment here telling me which of those seven books you would like to win — and why – if you had your choice

Step 3: Watch your email and/or check back here to see if you won!

I will accept entries for a week and will announce a winner next Friday, January 22. 

Best of luck to you all, and here’s to another fun year of bookhopping!

~ by Molly on January 14, 2010.

6 Responses to “a year of bookhopping”

  1. I just wanted to say Happy bloggiversay! I haven’t seen your blog before. Very clean and easy to navigate I am a huge advocate for that. Not officially signing up as I have read most of the books. Kudos to a great list. I read Guernsey as an ARC two years ago now I guess and it is a book that has stuck with me.

  2. Happy Blogiversary! I can relate to the difficulty of writing about a book you loved. My favorites leave me in awe for a few days afterward.

    I read all of your best reads except The Help, which I have on reserve. I’d love to cancel it and have a copy of my own, though! 🙂

  3. You had terrific choices for the best of 2009. I would love to have a copy of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. I work at a bookstore & we’ve sold a ton! Too many for me to take advantage of our borrow a copy policy from the store. I love the time period as well as the format – written in letters = cool!

    Best,
    Emily
    emilyATpageandpaletteDOTcom

  4. I have been reading your blog for the last few months and decided to read all the books on your “best reads of the year” post because I had already read The Hunger Games and The Help and LOVED both of them, so I trusted your judgement on the others. I read The Book Thief a couple weeks ago, Catching Fire this weekend, and I am on The Thirteenth Tale right now. I would love to have a copy of the Book Thief. The author of that book writes in the most beautiful way, and I have not stopped thinking about that book since I finished it.

  5. I have read 4 of the 7 and all 4( The Help, The Thirteenth Tale, The Man Who Loved Books Too Much, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society) would be on my best loved books list. I’m choosing not to enter the giveaway, but I wanted to say Happy One Year of Blogging, and I think your blog is wonderful, and beautiful written.

  6. Congratulations, Linzi! You have won the giveaway! I’ll be in touch via email to get your mailing address so I can send you a copy of The Book Thief.

    Thanks to everyone for all of your kind words – please keep reading!

Leave a Reply

 
