wanted: 30 copies of the hunger games

Sometimes, it seems, you need to be careful about what books you give as gifts.

Ever since I read The Hunger Games  (and Catching Fire) I’ve been recommending them to just about everyone I know.  For Christmas, I went one step further and bought my younger sister, who teaches high school English, copies of both.

And then a week ago, I got a voicemail from Katy:

“Hey, I just wanted to let you know that since you gave me the book The Hunger Games and I’m kind of obsessed with it now, you are responsible for finding me 30 more copies so I can teach it because I think it’s way better than any of the books actually on my list.”

Right. (And yes, she really talks like that.)

But once we determined that I wasn’t actually going to buy her 30 copies for her classroom, we discovered a way for her to get a class set so she could teach the novel to her freshman students — through DonorsChoose.org.

DonorsChoose.org is set up for exactly this type of purpose.  Teachers, who would like or need materials that are beyond the school’s budget (as so many unfortunately are), can submit a project to the organization.  Once DonorsChoose approves the project and verifies the cost, the project is posted online.  Then donors can look through the posted projects and select which ones they would like to donate to, based on their interests, locality, etc.

Katy’s project was posted online this morning.  As a huge proponent of young adult literature in the classroom, I feel like this is a really worthwhile project — and while I wasn’t willing to purchase 30 copies for her, I was happy to donate enough to cover two books.  If you are a fan of The Hunger Games and would like to help put it into the hands of a classroom of high school students, or if you believe in making reading more accessible to students, or if you’re just feeling generous, please visit Katy’s (or Ms. T’s) DonorChoose page and help out.  Even a small amount can make a difference.  And if her project has already been fulfilled by the time you get to it, check out some of the many other worthwhile projects posted as well — just a quick search of “The Hunger Games” brings up 24 projects where teachers are seeking books for their students.  And thank you!!!

~ by Molly on February 1, 2010.

One Response to “wanted: 30 copies of the hunger games”

  1. Thats Awesome! The Hunger games is such a great story, Suzanne collins just has a way to keep you hocked since page one of the book! I am so excited for the third and final one!

    Eric

Leave a Reply

 
