this week

It’s always a good day when you come home to books at your door.  Today, I arrived home to find these waiting for me:

Strictly speaking, Asleep wasn’t waiting for me — it arrived for my husband.  But I’ve read parts of Caldwell’s other book, The American Plague, and enjoyed it, and what I’ve heard about this one intrigues me.  The other book, Legacy of a False Promise, is a review copy I received from the publisher; it’s written by a woman whose parents were Communists in the 30s and 40s and were accused of being spies in the McCarthy area.  She was a teenager at the time, and has spent a significant amount of her adulthood researching her parents’ involvement in.  I read the first few chapters this afternoon and am looking forward to continuing.

In other news…I’ve recently finished Nick Hornby’s Slam and have started listening to The Friday Night Knitting Club — which I’ve nearly finished in a matter of just a couple of days.  Also still in progress is Game Change; about 2/3 of the way through, it’s still guiltily compelling.

What are you working on?

~ by Molly on March 17, 2010.

5 Responses to “this week”

  1. I am working my way through Sue Grafton’s alphabet mysteries, alphabetically. Up to F is for Fugitive.

  2. Just finished Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. David had been bugging me and bugging me to read, and reluctantly I did. It was a little slow a first and I put it down for a couple of weeks while I read others and decided it was finally time to pick it up and finish. I thoroughly enjoyed the plot line and how it was wrapped up. It’s not your usual book, but nevertheless, a great read. Any suggestions for a new one?
    ~Emma Loyless

    • Hi Emma! I read Water for Elephants a few years ago and really liked it too. You might try The Thirteenth Tale — it was one of my favorites from last year, and has some similar historical fiction aspects. I loved it.

  3. I am working nights right now and was really struggling to figure out a book to read last night to help me stay awake, but after reading over some of your lists and reviews, I went with The Book Thief (David had gotten it as a Christmas present). I’m only about 100 pages into it but am really enjoying it. I’ll have to read The Thirteenth Tale next! Thanks!

  4. I’ll second Water for Elephants & The Thirteenth Tale! Such great reads. Game Change looks interesting to me.

    My reads are…
    Tropic of Cancer – for book club Sunday. I think I’m going to give up soon.
    Bright Lights, Big Ass – hilarious!

    And I hope to start The Book Thief soon.

Leave a Reply

 
