this week

Recently finished: The Opposite of Me, the enjoyable debut novel of Sarah Pekkanen (think Jennifer Weiner or Emily Giffin), which I’ll write more about soon.

In active progress: I’m about halfway through Maeve Binchy’s Whitethorn Woods, on audio.  It’s good enough to keep going, but I am otherwise reserving judgment at this point.  I’ve also just started John Adams by David McCullough, which is a seriously hefty book.  I had originally got it from the library on CD, but after discovering it was an abridged version (almost always a dealbreaker for me), I went back for the actual book.  The weight of it alone has me tempted to purchase the ebook instead.  Size of the volume aside, I’ve found it to be interesting so far.  It’s a nice companion read to 1776; I’m already finding the context provided in 1776  helpful. 

About to start: Speaking of hefty books, I recently downloaded Middlemarch from the library’s web site and am looking forward to starting it. Even among beloved classics, this seems to have a stand-out reputation, so my hopes are high. 

What are you working on?

~ by Molly on June 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “this week”

  1. I just finished slogging through Revolutionary Road, which, despite the fact that it’s actually a really interesting book, seemed to take me forever.

    I just started The Heretic’s Daughter and am on page 4. 🙂

    I will have to check out Pekkanen because I love a good chick lit (with a little depth) author.

  2. I just finished Commencement by J. Courtney Sullivan. It was billed as “a beach book for smart women,” but seemed to me much less smart than other four-female-friends stories, such as The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series (even though this was for adults).

    Now I’m a few chapters into Every Last One and I’ve been on tenterhooks since the first page, just waiting for the sky to fall.

    I hope you make it through Middlemarch, Molly, because maybe then I’ll pick it up again. I tried it last year and only got about halfway through.

Leave a Reply

 
