vacation is over

I’ve been home from vacation for a week now but have been too busy trying to cope with re-entry into the real world to post.  I think I’m now back to routine, more or less, so here’s a quick summary of what I’ve been reading – and not reading – over the past few weeks:

Recently finished:  I wrapped up Jacob Have I Loved on the first part of our trip, and Story of a Girl, an excellent YA novel by Sara Zarr, served as my primary beach read.  My husband and I listened to The Associate, a middling effort by John Grisham, which nevertheless served its purpose of entertaining us during 10 or so of our many, many hours of vacation driving.  Since I’ve been back, I’ve also listened to John Green’s Looking for Alaska, which was even better than An Abundance of Katherines.

In active progress: After finishing The Associate, we moved on to Grisham’s The Appeal — we’re not quite done with it yet, but so far I would rank it among Grisham’s lesser novels.  It’s all about the drama surrounding the appeal of a lawsuit, when I think the story of the lawsuit (chemical company nailed for polluting the drinking water and bringing a cancer cluster upon a small Mississippi town) itself would be far more interesting.  I’m also listening to Fat Kid Rules the World, by K.L. Going, on my mp3 player, and Louise Erdrich’s The Painted Drum, on CD in my car.  (My sister’s taking a grad class on Erdrich, whom I’ve never read — which inspired me to grab up a copy of one her novels on CD when I saw it at the library the other week.)  As far as actual words-on-the-page books go, I’m wrapping up The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott, which started on the slow side but has been growing on me in recent chapters.

In less active progress: I haven’t picked up John Adams since leaving for vacation, and while I intend to finish it, I may do so on audio instead (depending on how quickly the library gets me the unabridged version).  Also, I started Lucy Sullivan Is Getting Married while on the beach, but I haven’t made it very far.  The characters seem far more frivolous and shallow than I’ve experienced with Keyes before, and the book is a long one for what should be a light read.  We’ll see if I go back to it or not.  (In case you weren’t counting, that’s a total of 6 books going, which is a bit ridiculous even for me, so Lucy may fall by the wayside simply due to triage.)

About to start: I checked Emily Giffin’s Heart of the Matter out on CD yesterday, so that may be next after I finish Erdrich.  And I’ve downloaded a few intriging YA novels onto my mp3 player as well, but there’s nothing specific on the horizon in hard copy form. Suggestions?

I think it’s time to accept that I will not be writing in-depth about all of these (not to mention the books mentioned in the previous post), so let me know if there’s something you’d specifically like to hear about.  And fill me in on what you’ve been reading the past two weeks!

~ by Molly on July 12, 2010.

One Response to “vacation is over”

  1. I gave up on John Adams. I couldn’t renew it and I still had hours and hours (days?) to go (on CD). Besides, I know how it ends.

Leave a Reply

 
