this month

…because apparently, that’s about how often I’m blogging anymore.

Oh well.  Work, life, and a bit of general laziness have limited both my blogging and reading over the past month or so.  But it’s a new month, and in hopes of getting back into a better routine, here’s a quick update on what I’ve been reading.

Since my last update post, I’ve wrapped up about six books and started a few others.  Grisham’s The Appeal, as I referenced before, was largely disappointing.  McNees’ The Last Summer of Louisa May Alcott was charmingly enjoyable, good for a light summer read, though not something I see myself revisiting.  On audio, I worked my way through K.L. Going’s Fat Kid Rules the World, Louise Erdrich’s The Painted Drum, and Emily Giffin’s The Heart of the Matter.  All were strong examples of their genres (YA lit, literary fiction, and chick lit, respectively), and all were very well done on audio.  I’ve found Giffin to be hit and miss in the past, but this, while less comedic than some of her other novels, fell more on the hit side.  And I definitely intend to read more of Erdrich in the future; her voice as a writer is unlike anyone else I’ve ever read, and I’m eager to discover her other work.

Most recently, I finished Mockingjay, the final installment of Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games trilogy.  At moments chaotic and vague and at others powerfully heartbreaking, the conclusion to Katniss Everdeen’s story is a fitting one.  Like the first two, I finished it in less than two days, but couldn’t help playing parts over in my head for days afterward.  The intensity Collins generates with her words is incredible; I’ve never experienced anything else like it.  (Closest would be the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, but Collins paces her books in a way that even Rowling doesn’t come close to.)

In current progress are The Geography of Bliss (in which NPR correspondent Eric Weiner travels the world in an effort to understand why some people are happy and others aren’t) and Girl, Interrupted (a memoir of Susanna Kaysen’s time in a mental hospital as a young adult).  I’ve been enjoying both, but since they’re both written in self-encapsulating chapters, they’re easy to put down for days at a time, which means progress is generally slow.  Good books, but not exactly with the suspense of The Hunger Games.

Which, by the way, may be my next reread.  I had reread the final chapters of Catching Fire prior to starting Mockingjay, just to make sure I understood where the transition between the books was taking place, but I’d felt the story largely memorable enough to not start back at the beginning.  And while I certainly didn’t have trouble remembering plot lines or even most characters, there were a few details referenced that I couldn’t quite place.  These didn’t impede me from understanding or appreciating the story as a whole, but a second time through the trilogy would undoubtedly bring the entire work into a sharper focus.

So that’s where I am as this summer winds down — what have you been reading?  And which, if any, of these would you like to hear more about?

~ by Molly on September 1, 2010.

One Response to “this month”

  1. Yes! Definitely read more Louise Erdrich! I went through an Erdrich phase after I read Love Medicine, and it’s been just long enough since I read her work that I want to go back and reread my favorites. I’d really like to reread The Last Report on the Miracles at Little No Horse and I still need to read her children’s books. Oh, to have a few more hours in the day . . .

Leave a Reply

 
