2010 favorites

The end of the year means end-of-year lists.  Last year, I laid out my favorite five overall books.  This year, I feel like I read a wider range of books and therefore am feeling a little like picking favorites would be like comparing apples to oranges…to bananas to grapes.  So here a few favorites in :

The Geography of Bliss
Favorite Non-Fiction

This book is essentially a series of essays by writer Eric Weiner as he examines what happiness means around the world.  It is cleverly witty, funny, melancholy, and fascinating all at once. This is one of those books I think I could recommend to just about anyone.

A Little Bit Wicked
Favorite Memoir

Kristin Chenoweth is hilarious — and possibly a little crazy.  But her chirpily genuine memoir is a fun one to listen to (and probably to read as well, although then you don’t get the benefit of her giggling along to her own stories).

Looking for Alaska
Favorite YA

John Green was a new discovery for me this year, and he is now pretty close to the top of my YA authors to watch for.  Looking for Alaska, encompassing all the chaos that is adolescence with its quirky characters and heartbreaking moments, slightly outshone the other novel of his I read. But I intend to follow up with everything else he has out.


 

 

 

 

 

 

Chains/Forge
Favorite Historical Fiction

I’d had Laurie Halse Anderson’s Chains on my shelf for awhile, and only picked it up once I discovered I’d waited to read it so long she’d already published its sequel.  The story of two young slaves during the Revolutionary War, both are compelling page-turners.  The only downside is that their story is going to be continued in at least one more installment, and unfortunately, I have to wait for that one.

Juliet Naked
Favorite Literary Fiction

Nick Hornby has been hit or miss for me in the past, but this was definitely a hit.  It’s an understated novel about two people – characters who feel real – trying to figure out their lives…and one of them just happens to be a former rock star.

Tale of Despereaux
Best Surprise

This was one Newbery winner that I just hadn’t crossed paths with yet.  I expected it to be a nice little read, but I wasn’t expecting to fall in love with the little mouse Despereaux and his Princess Pea. And yet, I did.  If you haven’t already, you probably will too.


Game Change

Favorite Guilty Pleasure

I love the show West Wing, and the feeling of political insidery-ness it gives.  Exchange the show’s characters for real people, pick out mainly the gossipy, personal scenes, and put these in book form — and now you have Game Change.

Mockingjay
Favorite 2010 Release

I’ve spent a lot of time on this blog gushing about the Hunger Games trilogy.  Simply put, it’s fantastic, addictive, and mesmerizing.  The final installment of the trilogy would not be on a favorite book list on its own merits, but as the final piece to the series, it was beautifully done.

What’s on your best of 2010 list?

~ by Molly on December 31, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
