this week

After not finishing anything for about a month, I have wrapped up four books in ten days, including two that I started within that timeframe as well.  (The fact that I spent four of those ten days on airplanes and in airports likely had something to do with this, though the momentum seems to have stuck.)  And so:

Recently finished: Wit’s End  and The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag, both of which I’d been working on for some time.  Wit’s End is a witty, quirky read by Karen Joy Fowler.  Finding herself the sole survivor of her immediate family, 28-year-old Rima comes to stay with her mystery-writing godmother in Santa Cruz.  The plot here isn’t particularly strong, but the juxtaposition of a range of characters (both those Rima interacts with as well as the ones in her godmother’s books) and the writing itself makes for an engaging read.  The Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag is the second Flavia de Luce adventure.  I wrote about my impressions of Flavia a few weeks ago; while I don’t think the second installment is quite as strong as the first, they largely hold true.

I’ve also just finished Crazy U: One Dad’s Crash Course on Getting His Kid Into College, an A.J. Jacobs-ish work where a journalist father (Andrew Ferguson) documents his family’s endeavors as his son applies to selective schools throughout the country.  This one is probably primarily of interest to parents (and maybe teens) about to embark on this process or to higher ed professionals like me, but it was nicely done, and I may write more about it later.  The last of my recently finished is 13 Little Blue Envelopes, a young adult novel by Maureen Johnson, whom I definitely plan to read more by.

In progress: Still moving through The Children’s Book, which might just be the longest audio book I’ve ever attempted — or at least it feels that way.  (It’s probably not actually longer than Middlemarch.)  I think I’m approaching the end, though, and it’s current journey through World War I is possibly the most moving portion of the novel thus far.

About to start: I’ve preordered the about-to-be-released follow-up to 13 Little Blue Envelopes, but that won’t be coming out till next Tuesday.  In the meantime, I may jump into the third Flavia novel, A Red Herring Without Mustard.

What are you working on?

~ by Molly on April 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
