busy people still read

My husband passed on this post to me today that seemed like a good opportunity to break my summer silence.  I talked about reading books by and about Paul Farmer this spring, but this Boston Globe article about what he reads is interesting as well.  I always feel like you have more of a sense of a person when you know what they read on their own time.  I’m somewhat amazed he finds time to read the way it sounds like he does, but Farmer makes a good point in the article that flying can hand you hours at a time to do just that.

I, too, have been reading, but blogging has been light lately (read: non-existant) because of summer travels and another move (same city, new house) and work business.   I’m not making any promises about writing more regularly here anytime soon, but if you want to keep up with what I’m reading (or re-reading), I do keep my Goodreads pretty up-to-date.  But here’s a quick summary of my recent finishes:

A Visit From the Goon Squad was pretty great.  A bit perplexing at times; Egan plays with point of view and time throughout the novel, but overall, I found it to both playful and thoughtful and very satisfying.

The Penderwicks was an absolutely charming children’s novel, with great characters that I definitely intend to follow into their next adventures.

Wives and Daughters was a comforting, enjoyable read.  It doesn’t offer the depth of its contemporary Middlemarch, but for fans of Eliot and Austen, it’s a similar look at characters and their relationships in a time period I love to become absorbed in.

The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio was absolutely wonderful.  My husband and I listened to it on vacation, and in addition to the fun of recognizing various locations throughout Northwest Ohio as they’re mentioned, the book itself is heartfelt and, at times, hilarious.

What have you been working on?

~ by Molly on September 8, 2011.

One Response to “busy people still read”

  1. I read The Social Animal this summer and it was okay…I admittedly skipped passages when it was too much. I tried Cutting for Stone and couldn’t get into it. But everyone keeps saying how great it was so maybe I’ll try again.

Leave a Reply

 
