this week

I’m making re-entry into the real world today, after spending two weeks mostly away from the office.  (I came in one day last week, but it was sandwiched by six days out on either side, so it hardly counts. And a few of those days have been spent working from home, but if you get to spend the day in your pajamas, I wouldn’t exactly call it “the real world” either.)  I have, however, been putting the last few days to good use. Already 2012 has found me on my way with two different books: Agatha Christie’s The Moving Finger and Jonathan Safran Foer’s Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.  Christie’s books, as I mentioned in my last post, are a fairly recent infatuation.  This is another Miss Marple installment, although I’m over halfway through the book, and she has yet to actually appear in it.  However, the first person narration by character Jerry Burton is appealing, and it may be my favorite of my recent Christie reads.  I’m only a few pages into Foer’s novel (17 of 207, according to my ebook), but I’m already captivated by its first-person narrator, a boy named Oskar.  This is a book that has long been on my radar to read, to the point of having the purchased ebook sitting on my iPad, and seeing the trailers for the movie adaptation (which looks really good as well) has prompted me to jump into it now.

I also spent some time perusing my library’s downloadable audiobooks and Kindle books and coming up with some good finds.  On audio, I downloaded Dickens’ David Copperfield; Spinelli’s Love, Stargirl; Rinaldi’s The Fifth of March; Collins’ The Women in White; and Mongomery’s Chronicles of Avalon, to name a few.  In Kindle books, I found McCall Smith’s 44 Scotland Street and Keyes’ Anybody Out There.  Of course, the problem now is choosing what to start with – any suggestions?  What are you kicking off your 2012 reading with?

~ by Molly on January 4, 2012.

One Response to “this week”

  1. Anybody Out There by Keyes is terrific.

Leave a Reply

 
