pub day – the fault in our stars

It’s rare that I pay attention to book release dates.  Sometimes I’m kind of aware that something by an author I enjoy will be coming out sometime in the near future, but usually I just make a mental and as often as not, I stumble across it weeks or months or even years after the publication date.  But every once in awhile, I develop enough attachment to an author (or series by an author) to snap up a new release, either through preorder or pub day purchase.  The list so far has been short: J.K. Rowling, Suzanne Collins, Laurie Halse Anderson.  But now, with today’s release of his The Fault in Our Stars, I am adding John Green.

I know nothing about this book.  Not the basic plotline, not the names of the characters.  Nothing except that it was written by John Green, whose work I’ve developed a total fascination with over the last few years.  I first randomly picked up one of his books in 2010 and have read four of his novels over the past year and a half, with not a disappointment in the bunch. His ability to combine the real and the ridiculous, the quirky and the authentic is unlike any other writer I know.

Thanks to a Christmas Barnes and Noble gift card, I preordered The Fault in Our Stars and am eagerly awaiting its arrival later this week.  (Also in the order? The Penderwicks at Point Mouette, which will round out my Pernderwicks collection, and a BN Classics copy of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, which I was surprised to find I didn’t have a good copy of in the house.)   I promise to report back soon.  In the meantime, if you haven’t read any of John Green’s other work yet, I would definitely recommend doing so.

~ by Molly on January 10, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
