this week

There were a number of books I received for my birthday (in October) and Christmas that I had every intention of reading right away.  As per usual, that hasn’t happened.  Rather than carefully work my way through my nice stack of to-reads that has been sitting in the living room, I’ve been more or less randomly picking up books as the inclination strikes.  Best laid plans and all that…

Recently finished: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, which was a compelling read I wrote in detail about earlier this week.  Also, a charming Great Depression era juvenile audiobook called R My Name Is Rachel, by the clever and prolific kid lit author Patricia Reilly Giff.

Currently in progress: The hilarious Mindy Kaling’s (of The Office fame) book of essays, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?  I’ve also started listening to the Chronicles of Avonlea, a collection of short stories by L.M. Montgomery that revisits the characters from the Anne novels (including Anne Shirley herself).  The brilliance of these seems to be that they take place concurrently with the novels, so we get more glimpses of Anne’s mischievous youth.  I’ve also been spending the last few weeks drifing in and out of Austen-land – I’ve worked my way through both Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility, and I’m now listening to Emma.  I’ve also got a copy of Agatha Christie’s A Murder Is Announced sitting around, and have been reading a few pages at a time here and there.

About to start: I’m looking forward to John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars, which did (finally) safely arrive last week.  Otherwise, your guess is as good as mine.  We’ll just have to see…

What are you working on?

~ by Molly on January 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
