this month

Summer is here!  And with it has come some serious reading time.  But somehow, not writing time.  Hmmm – funny how that happens.  I suppose, after spending all day staring at a computer screen at work, it becomes harder when it’s nice out to spend any extra time in front of it.  But that means I’ve got a lot to catch up with!

Recently finished – I’ve wrapped up two advance copies of books that I liked, though not necessarily loved, in recent weeks – The House of Velvet and Glass and Wife 22.  I am planning/hoping/intending to write up both of these in more detail soon, as long as I don’t let the summer get away from me again.  I’ve also recently listened to two charming (in completely different ways) YA books – Chasing Vermeer and Suite Scarlett.  The latter is by Maureen Johnson, who is quickly joining the ranks as one of my go-to YA authors.  She writes characters that feel fresh and genuine and down-to-earth and a little quirky all at once.  (She’s also absolutely hilarious on Twitter.)

In progress – I am on the verge of wrapping of a Little House binge, brought on by my continued reading of The Wilder Life – reading through the books (most of them, anyway) in tandem with McClure’s own expedition through “Laura World” (as she calls it) has been a lot of fun.  I’m in the final third of McClure’s book, and about halfway through These Happy, Golden Years, the last true book of the series. (The First Four Years is a different animal altogether.)  I imagine I will have a few thoughts once I come out on the other side.

I’m also listening to Maeve Binchy’s Heart and Soul.  Binchy was one of my favorite writers back in high school – there’s something warm and comforting about the characters and communities she creates.   It’s been years since I’ve kept up with her to the point of reading everything she releases, but dipping back into her work is always a little bit like visiting old friends.  Even some of the characters (who occasionally have recurring roles in otherwise unconnected novels) offer a sense of vague familiarity.

About to start – I’m looking forward to trying Mark Haddon’s The Red House, which is waiting for me at home, as is The Innocents by Francesca Segal and about a million other books.  So we’ll see…

What’s on your summer reading list?

~ by Molly on June 25, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
